Scented Sonnet

A Poem by Richard D. Hartwell

Again, encountered you in dream’s repast,
Your visit is for me a nightly balm,
Imbued medicaments for dreams to last,
Until dawn fogs your image with day’s song.

As stars of bethlehem then close at dusk,
I rush headlong t’wards my own audition,
And must again encore my love, and musk
Is scented, envelopes all of my perdition.

Each eve I’m wafted on rose bower’s breeze,
And you and I, with light touch intertwined,
Until you slumber, I caress, and seize
Memories of others audaciously reclined.

   Thus unto you my love each night expressed,
   Must rising thoughts of others be repressed.

Leave a Reply

